African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) Masters & PhD Program 2024

In cooperation with the CMAAE Programme of AERC, DAAD has up to five African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) Masters & PhD Program (5) in-country, in-region scholarship offers.

This cooperation aims to support the national and regional postgraduate training program offered by AERC.

About the Award

DAAD, a public-funded, self-governing organization of the institutions of higher education in Germany, promotes international academic exchange and educational cooperation with developing countries through various funding and scholarship programs.

The Collaborative Masters of Science in Agricultural and Applied Economics (CMAAE) program of the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) is run in a network of 17 participating universities in 12 countries in Eastern, Central, and Southern Africa.

The CMAAE PhD fellowship program aims at building the staff capacity of network universities that may have an inadequate capacity for teaching and research.

The PhD should be in Agricultural Economics through coursework, research, and thesis in the Sub-Saharan region among the CMAAE-accredited universities within East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and Ethiopia).

About AERC

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) launched a collaborative research project on growth in fragile and post-conflict countries, with the support of the International Development Research Center (IDRC) to better understand the dynamics of growth in fragile countries and post-conflict in Africa.

The AERC Training Program supports postgraduate studies in agricultural economics and economics and improves the capacities of the respective economics departments in African public universities.

Field of Study: 

Fields of specialization covered in the CMAAE program include Agricultural and Rural Development, Agricultural Policy and Trade, Environment and Natural Resource Management, and Agribusiness Management.


Masters, PhD, Research

Offered annually?




  • Must have completed their last university degree less than six (6) years ago at the time of application;
  • Applicants from Sub-Saharan African countries, i.e. nationals from Kenya, Burundi, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan, and Ethiopia, are eligible for DAAD funding for studies at the five (5) CMAAE accredited universities [Makerere University (Uganda), Sokoine University of Agriculture (Tanzania), Egerton University and University of Nairobi (Kenya), and Haramaya University (Ethiopia)];
  • Every applicant from Botswana, Swaziland, Zambia, Mozambique, Lesotho, and Namibia is also eligible for DAAD funding for studies as non-nationals at the five (5) CMAAE accredited universities listed above;
  • Applicants will apply to AERC directly; only those shortlisted can apply to DAAD through the DAAD website portal. DAAD will undertake the final selection of MSc awardees from the shortlisted applicants.


A. PhD Fellowship Programme for CMAAE network faculty staff

  • Must be a holder of master’s in agricultural and applied economics or a related discipline;
  • You must be a staff or potential staff member of a participating CMAAE university who is earmarked for staff retention to build a department of agricultural economics capacity for teaching and research;
  • Must be recommended by a participating network university. The recommendation letter must indicate the willingness of the university to absorb the candidate upon successfully completing his/her PhD.

B. PhD Programme for CMAAE graduates

  • Must have attained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Agricultural Economics or a related field from an accredited university;
  • Must have a Master’s Degree (with coursework and thesis component) in Economics, Agricultural Economics or related fields from a CMAAE network university;
  • The coursework should have covered microeconomics, macroeconomics and quantitative methods;
  • Possession of at least one relevant publication in a refereed journal will be an added advantage
  • Evidence of engagement in economic management, research and/or training in the public sector will be an added advantage;
  • Applicants will apply to AERC directly and only those shortlisted will be eligible to apply to DAAD through DAAD website portal. DAAD will undertake the final selection of PhD awardees from the shortlisted applicants.


AERC will shortlist eligible applicants who will then be informed to apply to DAAD through DAAD web portal.

DAAD will carry out their plagiarism tests on PhD proposals, while AERC will communicate to the successful awardees after that.

Number of Awardees: 

The total number of awardees for the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) Masters & PhD Program is 5.

Duration of Scholarship: 

The PhD program is three(3) years, and that of the Master is two(2) years, generally starting in September 2024.

How to Apply:

Interested applicants must submit their applications for admission directly to the respective host universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective university websites).

Upon receipt of an admission letter, temporary admission letter or letter assuring admission from the specific university, the applicant should apply for the scholarship by submitting the documents.

Not later than February annually:

  • Signed curriculum vitae; please use the Europass CV template (
  • A signed copy of the DAAD Information Sheet for Students
  • Certified copies of all university degree certificates
  • Certified copies of all university transcripts
  • At least a temporary admission letter including the fee structure of the respective course (original or certified copy only), or an official letter assuring admission
  • Letter of motivation [Maximum two (2) pages]
  • Academic reference from at least a senior lecturer and proof of employment if applicable (original only)
  • PhD proposals must demonstrate relevance to agricultural development
  • Two (2) recommendation letters from academic referees

Visit the Scholarship Webpage for details

Award Provider: DAAD, AERC
Important Notes: 
Females, candidates from less privileged regions or groups, and candidates with disabilities are especially encouraged to apply.

Application Deadline: 

The deadline for the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) Masters & PhD Program is 25th April yearly.

AERC) Masters & PhD Program-FAQs

(AERC) Masters & PhD Program is to be taken at following universities: 
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
University of Botswana
University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
University of Cape Coast, Ghana
University of Ghana, Legon
University of Nairobi, Kenya
University of Mauritius
University of Namibia
University of Malawi 
University of Zimbabwe
Makerere University Uganda

AERC) Masters & PhD Program 2024 is designed for students who pursuing masters or PhD programs in any of the hosting universities in Africa.


  • Merit-Based Scholarships at Syracuse University in USA 
  • African Research Universities Alliance Post-doctoral Fellowships 
  • STUDY ABROAD: How to find supervisor or professor for your masters and PhD
  • Cardiff University: Center of Law and Society Research Visitor Fellowship 
  • DAAD-RUFORUM In-Country/In-Region African Doctoral Scholarships 
  • List of Scholarships For Uganda, Undergraduate, postgraduate and Fellowships
  • AERC PhD Thesis Research Awards for African students
  • CMAAE MSc Scholarships for BMGF Anchor Countries in Africa
  • African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) Fellowships for a PhD in Africa

#African #Economic #Research #Consortium #AERC #Masters #PhD #Program

Leave a Comment