East African Rhodes Scholarships 2024 [UPDATED]

East African students are currently been invited to hurry and apply for the East African Rhodes Scholarships 2023, only scholars that have proven to be eligible will be given consideration for this program. Hurry now and apply for this program.

Here are the things you need to know. Let us begin.


The Rhodes Scholarship, named after the Anglo-South African mining magnate and politician Cecil John Rhodes, is an international postgraduate award for students to study at the University of Oxford. It is widely considered to be one of the world’s most prestigious scholarships.

Established in 1902, it was the first large-scale program of international scholarships, inspiring the creation of a great many other awards across the globe (such as the Fulbright program, Marshall Scholarship, Gates Cambridge Scholarship, and Schwarzman Scholars).

Scholarship terms:

Rhodes Scholars may study any full-time postgraduate course offered by the university, whether a taught master’s program, a research degree or a second undergraduate degree (senior status). In the first instance, the scholarship is awarded for two years. However, it may also be held for one year or three years.

Applications for a third year are considered during the course of the second year. University and college fees are paid by the Rhodes Trust. In addition, scholars receive a monthly maintenance stipend to cover accommodation and living expenses.

Although all scholars become affiliated with a residential college while at Oxford, they also enjoy access to Rhodes House, an early 20th-century mansion with numerous public rooms, gardens, a library, study areas, and other facilities.


The Rhodes Trust has announced a new Rhodes Scholarship for East Africa.

Young people aged 19-25 from the region will be eligible for the new Scholarship when annual applications open later this year. Detailed eligibility criteria will be published soon at www.rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk/apply.

The new Scholarship will cover Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan, and Burundi. Scholarships are already available for Kenya and also for Zambia, Zimbabwe, Southern Africa, and the West Africa region.

The Rhodes Trust is funding the first two years of the Scholarship itself and is actively looking for partners to endow the Scholarship in perpetuity.

The new East Africa Scholarship is part of a wider geographic expansion of the Rhodes Scholarships. The total number of Scholarships awarded each year has increased in recent years from 83 to 100 each year, including new Scholarships in China, West Africa, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia (reinstated), Palestine, Singapore (reinstated), Syria, and the United Arab Emirates, as well as two new global Scholarships.

This increases the number of Rhodes Scholars studying at the University of Oxford at any one time to approximately 250. The expansion into these regions marks a historic moment for the Rhodes Trust, and further strengthens the international Rhodes community.


This RHODES SCHOLARSHIP is for fully-funded  Postgraduate studies available to EAST African students in virtually any field at an international university of their own choice.

You can utilize these scholarship opportunities to solve most of your academic problems. Check out other scholarships you can apply for in 2021 to study in EuropeAfricaAsiaAmerica, etc.


The scholarship is to be taken in the UK. 


This scholarship is available to scholars from East African Nations amongst which include Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, or Uganda.

Read also if you wish to study outside your home country Simple and Detailed Answers about Applying and Winning a Scholarship.


This is a fully-funded scholarship program that implies that all of the students’ financial responsibilities will be adequately taken care of amongst other benefits.

The Scholarship may cover the following expenses: registration costs, tuition fees, prescribed textbooks allowance, accommodation, meal allowance, laptop allowance, and a living allowance.


Nationality/citizenship: You must be a citizen of Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania or Uganda.

Education/Residency: You must have been resident in one or more of the countries listed above, or Kenya, for at least five of the last ten years.

Age: You must have reached your 19th and not have passed your 26th birthday on 1 October 2019, which means you must have been born after 30 September 1993 and on or before 1 October 2000.

Exceptions, extending the upper age limit by no more than 2 years, may be made for students who have undertaken an undergraduate degree of five years or more, at the discretion of the National Secretary. In such cases, exceptions will only be considered for applicants born after 30 September 1991 and on or before 1 October 2000.

Academic achievement: You must have completed (or will have completed by no later than July 2020) an undergraduate degree from a college or university (normally a Bachelor’s degree) to a sufficiently high standard to be admitted to postgraduate study at the University of Oxford.

This would normally be the equivalent of a First Class or a GPA of 3.7 or more. In this respect, please note carefully the requirements for your chosen course at Oxford.

English Language requirement: You must have a sufficiently high standard of English to meet the English language proficiency requirements.

Given the very intense international competition for places at the University of Oxford, candidates studying in Burundi or South Sudan will have a greater chance of successful admission to Oxford if they have an Honours degree (or have taken an Honours year) from a University outside of their country or if they have studied to Masters level within their country.


Eligible applicants are advised to follow these methods of application for this scholarship[ program for East African students

  • You can apply online from 01 June 2024 at http://www.rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk via the scholarships tab.
  • You must submit your application online, with all supporting documents, before the deadline.
  • In preparation for making your application, you should read carefully the general information for candidates on the Rhodes website, the Conditions of Tenure for the Rhodes Scholarship, the information in this document and the graduate admissions pages of the University of Oxford: www.ox.ac.uk/admissions/graduate
  • Shortlisted candidates will be invited to a social reception (e.g. a lunch or dinner reception) and an interview. No candidate will be selected without an interview. You must be available to attend the interview and social reception, in person, as no accommodations can be made on the date and time of these events. Interviews will be held in Kigali, Rwanda, in later October / early November. Reasonable travel expenses will be reimbursed for interview candidates traveling from outside of Rwanda. Overnight accommodation will be provided if necessary.
  • All applicants will be emailed with the outcome of their application by 15 November.

You can also contact the National Secretary for East Africa
Mrs. Janet Kabiru
Email: info.eastafrica@rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk

For more information on the application please see this Official link for the Rhodes scholarship


The deadline for this application is August each year


#East #African #Rhodes #Scholarships #UPDATED

Leave a Comment